Scholarship Info

Trust Fund Trustees Scholarship
Program 2022

The Massachusetts Highway Association (MHA) Trust Fund Trustees are pleased to announce the availability of college scholarships for MHA members and the children or grandchildren of MHA members.  The Trustees are carrying on this annual tradition and look forward to receiving applications from qualified students.

MHA Trust Fund Trustees endeavor to consider each scholarship applicant in a fair and equitable manner. In order to provide a fair and equitable process to all, the following instructions must be followed. The adherence to these instructions will be used by the Trustees in consideration of each application.

1. Members as well as children and grandchildren of active, life, and associate members of the MHA may be eligible. Members who have belonged to the MHA for a minimum of three (3) consecutive years prior to the closing date for scholarship applications and who are in good standing with the MHA shall be eligible to file applications for scholarships. Members having the same aforementioned eligibility may sponsor their children and / or grandchildren for a scholarship during the application process.

2. Applicants shall be enrolled at either a four-year or a two-year accredited degree granting college or graduate school.

3. Applications must be fully completed and shall include relevant documentation of class standing, SAT scores and GPA.

4. Completed applications must be submitted on time and on the current application form to be considered. Applications must be received by:March 4, 2022 in order for the Trustees to screen and select the applicants for scholarship awards during the MHA’s Annual Meeting in May 2022.   Please mail FULLY completed application to: David Lane, Secretary; Massachusetts Highway Association; P.O. Box 2004; Danvers, MA 01923.

5. Along with the application, the applicant is required to submit a short essay (approximately 200 words) outlining his/her interests, goals, and achievements.

6. A brief statement of need is required.

7. A brief letter of recommendation from a teacher who has personal knowledge of the applicant is required.

8. Successfully applicants and / or their sponsors are expected to attend the MHA Annual Meeting to receive their scholarship award. The award of scholarships to successful applicants will be made at the Annual Meeting of the Massachusetts Highway Association held in May. The scholarship awards will be paid directly to the student upon proof of eligibility as established by the Board of Trustees


The scholarship award program is under the direction of the Massachusetts Highway Association Trust Fund Trustees who are responsible for screening the applicants to determine their eligibility.  The Trustees establish the total amount of money to be awarded for scholarships for each yearly period and shall set the amount that may be awarded to each applicant.

Best wishes in this application process and in continuing your education.

2022 Application

Click here for the 2022 MHA Application for Scholarship Aid


2021 Scholarship Winners

MHA Awards 24 Scholarships for 2021

The Massachusetts Highway Association awarded 24 scholarships in 2021.  It was disappointing that we were not able to honor these hard-working students in person at our Annual Meeting; however, the MHA Trustees did their work to evaluate all of the applicants and recommend the awards to the following students:

David Capelle, Chairman of the Trust Fund Committee has announced the winners of the 2021 Scholarships. Because of COVID restrictions the winners will not attend the Annual Meeting and will receive their scholarship checks by mail. Twenty-nine applications were received, and the committee will award twenty-four scholarships to the following individuals:

Elsie Buckley; James Collins; Adrianna Crisafulli; Jack Duran; Ava Hale; Micah Kashi; Caroline Kelley; Olivia Kelley; Andrew Langley; Bryn Maynard; Maia McGonagle; Meghan McGonagle;  Samuel McGown; Ian Noyes; Brooklyn Pratt; Julia Russell; Mia Russell; Angelique Scully; Alex Stencell; Samuel Stencell; Zeb Tilton; Kathleen Tonaszuck; Mary Tonaszuck (ALdo Bartlet Award), Connor Woodsmall. Congratulations to all!